[Spoiler Free Review] Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

20613470

You can find my review of Throne of Glass here and my review of Crown of Midnight here.

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

 

“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Heir of Fire

I wasn’t sure I was going to continue with the Throne of Glass series until I read this book. Throne of Glass didn’t blow me away and I wasn’t too crazy about Crown of Midnight. I just have a lot of issues with the characters and the plot. In Throne of Glass, I could see similarities between this series and ACOTAR. (Which is to be expected because they are written by the same person) However, the more the series goes on, the closer the plot lines get. Obviously, I’m not going to get into details because I’m not going to be the one who spoils the book for you but I just wanted to share my frustration with you all. 😉

“It would not take a monster to destroy a monster – but light, light to drive out darkness.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Heir of Fire

Also, is it just me or is Heir of Fire just a better version of Throne of Glass? It’s basically the exact same book. We still have the same characters but new characters are also introduced in this novel. Personally, I love the new characters so much more than the people (Chaol and Dorian) in ToG and CoM. I can’t recall right now if I mentioned the changing point of views in my previous reviews but I was not a fan but because of the new additions, I love them. Reading this series also allows you to see the changes and the growth in Sarah J. Maas’ writing style.

“The people you love are just weapons that will be used against you.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Heir of Fire

I will say that one of the reasons I didn’t really connect to ToG or CoM is because I was not rooting for any of the characters. We all know how I feel about Chaol and Dorian and Celaena wasn’t one of my favorite characters either.

“All she knew was that whatever and whoever climbed out of that abyss of despair and grief would not be the same person who had plummeted in.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Heir of Fire

Celaena was this big mystery to me. We didn’t really know much about her because she blocked her past out. However, in Heir of Fire, we get to see a little more of her and I love it. I was able to connect to her in a way I didn’t in the first two books. One of my favorite parts of this book is the beginning where we see her grieving for her friend and everything that has happened in her life. It isn’t something that you just move on from and I love that Maas included that.

“Gods, he was brilliant. Cunning and wicked and brilliant.
Even when he beat the hell out of her. Every. Damn. Day.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Heir of Fire

I want to quickly mention the new addition to the story. Rowan is really a mystery in Heir of Fire but I know that I am going to love him. There is so much of him that we don’t see right now but the more the book goes on, the more his character develops.

As always, 

Read. Write. Create.

Mandi ❤

Leave a Reply

