{Review} Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas [Spoiler Free]

 

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached. It puts this entire castle in jeopardy–and the life of your friend.”

17167166Summary:
From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My Thoughts:

So by now you should have seen my review of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, (if not you can find it here) and you know that I was not crazy in love with it but I decided to stick with the series to see where it went. I have now read Crown of Midnight and I don’t know what I think. Honestly, I don’t know if I loved it or hated it.

“But death was her curse and her gift, and death had been her good friend these long, long years.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

I thought I was going to love this book but about a quarter of the way through, I knew something was going to happen. First of all, there wasn’t really that much action. Second of all, things around the castle were too “happy”. If that’s what you could even call it. Let’s just say that no one was dying. Now you all know by now that I am not one for spoilers so I promise I won’t say anything that will ruin the book for you but just be prepared to throw the book across the room and scream. (At least that is what I did. (Don’t worry, the book was not harmed!))

“Perhaps there was an unstoppable magic inherent in music and art.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

I definitely found myself warming up to Celaena but I still didn’t like her choices. She is incredibly irrational. And I definitely think she underestimates herself. She has blocked out so much of her past that she doesn’t even know who she is anymore and that is why everything she has ever cared about has been destroyed.

“Perhaps the world would never be perfect, perhaps some things would never be right, but maybe she stood a chance of finding her own sort of peace and freedom.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

I do kind of feel like her life is just an eternal loop. Like she will lose someone important to her and she will go crazy and then shut down. That was one of the biggest negatives for me in this book. It kind of reminded me of a soap opera. And can we please just move past the love triangle? Please tell me I am not the only one that feels this way…

 “And what’s wrong with headstrong girls?” she pressed. “Other than the fact that they’re not wooden-headed ninnies who can only open their mouths to give orders and gossip?” ~Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

I didn’t mention this in my review of Throne of Glass because it didn’t bother me that much but I noticed it a lot more in Crown of Midnight. The changing POV’s. I’m not a fan. In ToG, there were just these short sections where Chaol or Dorian (sometime Kaltain or the King) would be the speaker but in Crown of Midnight, it is almost like alternating chapters but there is no chapter title to let you know. I get that it is switching POV’s because there are a lot of moving parts in the series and Maas wants us to see what everyone is up to not just Celaena but I found myself wanting to skip ahead (I didn’t but I thought about it…) and just get back to what Celaena was doing.

Overall, it was better than Throne of Glass but it is nowhere close to the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy. Of course, I am going to stick with the series because I can see where it is going to get better so stay tuned for my review of Heir of Fire Friday. 😊

QOTD: What is your favorite Sarah J. Maas book?

As always,

Read. Write. Create.

Mandi ❤

Leave a Reply

