[Spoiler free REVIEW] Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

16034235

Summary:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien. 

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

My Thoughts:

Hello fellow book nerds! The time has finally come to do my review of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. Since I like to be honest here, I should tell you that I have been avoiding writing this review for quite some time. But I am finally starting Crown of Midnight (Update: I have just finished reading Heir of Fire so the reviews for the next few books will be up in the coming weeks…) and much like I did with my reviews of ACOTAR, I am writing and posting the reviews as I read them.

I apologize in advance if this review seems a little ranty or rambly….

So, I have actually read ToG twice within a week. The first time I read it within six hours and I felt like a lot of details didn’t really stick with me. So of course, I read it again. This time I stretched it between 3 or 4 days. Since then, it’s been about a week and I think I finally have my thoughts together.

“No. I can survive well enough on my own— if given the proper reading material.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

As you probably know, I have read ACOTAR (if you haven’t seen my reviews of the trilogy, you can find them here.) and I loved it. It quickly became one of my favorite fantasy series. Now, R. Lynn is crazy about ToG and she hasn’t read ACOTAR. She said I have to read ToG because it is amazing. However, I have also talked to people who think that ACOTAR is much better than the Throne of Glass series but that the books do get better throughout the series. With that being said, I did not let myself get hyped about this book because I knew that it was written well before ACOTAR and that Sarah J. Maas’ writing has probably gotten better throughout writing the series. I was right.

“I like music,” she said slowly, “because when I hear it, I . . . I lose myself within myself, if that makes any sense. I become empty and full all at once, and I can feel the whole earth roiling around me. When I play. I’m not . . . for once, I’m not destroying, I’m creating.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass 

So much like many of the books in the YA world, there is a love triangle. I have to say this is the first one where I am not rooting for either of the contenders. I don’t think that either one of them deserve Celaena. I think that neither one of them will ever truly understand her because she has to accept who she is first. And she refuses to do that. In fact, I find Celaena to be quite ignorant. She just ignores everything around her and only focuses on what she was trained to do. Which is understandable but at some point she needs to step up and show everyone who she really is.

“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

So as you can probably tell, I am not crazy about any of the characters in the book. I like them but I just don’t relate to any of them. I think at some point in the series, I will relate to Celaena but at this point, I don’t really know her because she keeps her past in the past. There are small hints here and there that allow you to guess but other than that, she is a mystery even to the reader.

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.” ~Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

I think that my favorite part of Throne of Glass is the competitions. I am a sucker for action and Sarah J. Maas writes some of the best fighting scenes I have ever read. It is probably one of the main reasons I am going to stick to the series. And also because I saw spoilers (even though I avoid them as all costs) on Pinterest and want to see how that comes to happen.  

As always,

Read. Write. Create.

Mandi ❤ 

Leave a Reply

